AFTER CAMP NANOWRIMO, WHAT COMES NEXT?

Camp-2017-Winner-Profile-PhotoCamp Nanowrimo is finished and I will admit to being rather stunned. What? I don’t have to keep on with this schedule of writing 3 hours a day any longer? How amazing!

I am also really impressed with myself because I was three days ahead of myself on my goals and so I was able to doodle away the last few days of Camp.

In fact, I think at this point I am free to say that having completed a second not so bad version of my book “In Limbo” I am feeling slightly better about myself as a writer. It really was a very disciplined practice for me to write up 2000 words per day in order to write another version of my novel.   It now adds up to 339 pages!

I just printed out the entire manuscript yesterday, and I can tell you, even though it is not publishable material yet, it still is mighty impressive.

As a next step, since I realize I haven’t achieved the kind of quality work that I am looking for up to this point, I have gone on a major shopping spree looking for “how to write” books. I’m hoping that if I read these books, somehow the techniques will filter into my consciousness by osmosis and I will step across that line from still junk, to maybe something I can work with to the point where it becomes publishable.

For those who are interested, below is the list of the books that I have either consulted or intend to consult in order to improve my writing. I am sharing this information with you because I realize that there are so many books out there it is very hard to decide which ones to choose.

In fact, let’s dig a little deeper here.  I have noticed that along with writers out there, we have a homegrown crop of advisors to writers who tell writers what to do, despite most of the time, not really actually being writers themselves! Advisors to writers set up MFA programs, establish conferences, write books, and generally get money from writers by convincing them how much they still need to learn and do before they actually make it in the world of publishing!

Right now I am going to buy this line because I’m still in apprentice mode, but sooner or later, just letting folks know, I will not be spending my money on any of this stuff. This is only for now while I still have questions.

With all that said, below, in no particular order, are the books I have picked to learn more about creating a solid, publishable piece of writing:

“Creating Characters: The Complete Guide to Populating Your Fiction” by Writer’s Digest Editors and Steven James
Two book set “Outlining Your Novel” by K.M. Weiland
“Creating Character Arcs: The Masterful Author’s Guide to Uniting Story Structure ” by K.M. Weiland
“Author in Progress; A No-Holds-Barred Guide to What It Takes to Get Published”
Edited by Therese Walsh and the Writer Unboxed Community
“The Plot Whisperer: Secrets of Story Structure Any Writer Can Master” by Martha Alderson
“Confict and Suspense” by James Scott Bell
“Mastering Suspense Structure & Plot: How to Write Gripping Stories That Keep Readers on the Edge of their Seats” by Jane K. Cleland and Hallie Ephron

“Writing and Selling Your Mystery Novel” by Hallie Ephron

So here is what I’m going to do.  I am going to read and take notes on all of these books during the months of May and June.  During that time, I am going to write up a whole new outline for a third version of my book and I am going to join the July 2017 session of Camp Nanowrimo to execute my plans.

I’ll let you know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

